ADOPT Core Measures

Lesley Lytle is involved in an exciting research project: the ADOPT Core Measures Project aims to advance adult obesity treatment in the face of well-documented individual variability in response to treatment.  To achieve this goal, there is a critical need to better understand the sources of this variability and develop models which integrate behavioral, psychosocial, environmental, and biological predictors and moderators of adult treatment responses.   Such models could provide the basis for developing and testing tailored treatments which optimize initial weight loss and sustain the weight reduced state. 

The National Institutes of
Health (NIH) convened a group of interdisciplinary scientists, the Accumulating
Data to Optimally Predict obesity Treatment (ADOPT) Core Measures Working Group,
to lead this project.  The ADOPT Working Group
is tasked with identifying an initial core set of high-priority measures that
when used consistently in studies can facilitate the identification of replicable
predictors or moderators of treatment response.  


The ADOPT Working Group launched
this process by entering potential predictors and mediators into the
Grid-Enabled Measures (GEM) Database (  Because GEM was developed
to share the best measures for many topics (
read about GEM), 4
workspaces were created to organize the ADOPT work: 

Behavioral Workspace

Biological Workspace

Environmental Workspace

Psychosocial Workspace


As the next step in this process, the ADOPT Working Group needs your
input regarding the measures entered in GEM.
    GEM provides
an online venue for you and other scientists to provide feedback on the
potential measures by

providing additional information
about measures already entered in GEM,

rating and commenting on each entered
measure, such as on its quality, ease of administration, ease of completion,
and  availability,  and

entering additional measures into
GEM, with supporting information, for consideration.


Contributing to this effort is incredibly easy: 

Login as a GEM user to enter
information or comment.  If you have not
previously used GEM, you can register by clicking a link in the upper right
hand corner of the
home page

Proceed to any of the four ADOPT
workspaces by  clicking on each above workspace

Select ‘measures’ along the
left-hand side of the screen.  You will
then be able to comment on the measures entered in GEM or add new ones.    

If you add a new measure but
are not sure which workspace is most appropriate, pick one and enter it. 

More detailed instructions can
be found in the attached handout or you can contact us at
[email protected].


We would appreciate your input through GEM by October 7, 2016.  The ADOPT Working Group will
consider your input as it develops an initial list of measures to present at a
forum during Obesity Week (Friday, November 4, 2016 from 8-9:30 am; 15097:
Toward Optimizing Long-Term Obesity Treatment: Measuring Core Variables in
Adult Weight Loss Trials). 


We hope that you will agree
that this is an important effort and will work with us to help the obesity
research community to obtain better data to optimize long-term obesity
treatment.  This project won’t work without your input! 




Paul MacLean, Alex Rothman, Cay
Loria, Tanya Agurs-Collins, Susan Czajkowski, and Holly Nicastro on behalf of


Accumulating Data to Optimally Predict obesity Treatment (ADOPT)
Core Measures
Working Group


Daniel H. Bessesen, MD

Kerri Boutelle, PhD

Molly Bray, PhD

Anita P. Courcoulas, MD, MPH,

Elissa Epel, PhD

Amy Gorin, PhD

Kevin D. Hall, PhD

Mark Hopkins, PhD, MSc, BSc

John M. Jakicic, PhD

Leslie A. Lytle, PhD

Paul S. MacLean, PhD

Tiffany M. Powell-Wiley MD,

Naresh M. Punjabi, MD, PhD                                                                

Susan B. Roberts, PhD

Michael Rosenbaum, MD

Alex Rothman, PhD (Co-chair)

Donna H. Ryan, MD

Brian E. Saelens, PhD

Cary R. Savage, PhD

Dana M Small, PhD

Angelina R. Sutin, PhD

David M. Williams, PhD

Shannon N. Zenk, PhD, MPH, RN


NIH Planning Group


Tanya Agurs-Collins, PhD, R.D.

S. Sonia Arteaga, PhD

Rachel Ballard, MD, MPH

David Berrigan PhD MPH

Josephine Boyington, PhD, MPH,

Susan M. Czajkowski, PhD (Co-lead)

Janet M. de Jesus, MS, RD

Mary Evans, PhD

Paige A. Green, PhD, MPH

Christine M. Hunter, Ph.D.,

Aaron D. Laposky, PhD

Maren R. Laughlin, PhD

Catherine (Cay) Loria, PhD,
MS, MA (Co-lead)

Padma Maruvada PhD

Richard P Moser, PhD

Holly Nicastro, PhD, MPH (Co-lead)

Lis Nielsen, PhD

Charlotte Pratt, PhD, MS, RD

Jill Reedy, PhD, MPH, RD

Elise Rice, PhD

Katrina J. Serrano, PhD, CHES

Luke E. Stoeckel, PhD

Aynur Unalp-Arida, MD, MSc,

Susan Z. Yanovski, MD

Deborah Young-Hyman, PhD.