President: Erica Hinckson

Professor Erica Hinckson is the Head of the School of Sport and Recreation at the Faculty of Health and Environmental Sciences at Auckland University of Technology.

A professor with expertise in physical activity, built environment, and citizen science research.
Previously she held the role of Associate Dean Postgraduate Research for the Faculty for six years. Experienced faculty executive and academic with a demonstrated history of working strategically and effectively in higher education with strong sector and community links. Skilled in creating positive environments for academic and allied staff and students. Highly experienced in curriculum development, leading and sustaining change, public speaking, ensuring the quality of processes and systems, problem-solving, empowering and developing others.
Currently, a project leader in an ~8mil MBIE grant (2020), Te Hotonga Hapori-Connecting Communities: Enhancing the impact of major urban regeneration on community wellbeing. She also supervises research students. Supported by her team and key external partners, led the development of a Centre Of Research Excellence application, Te Kākano-Centre for wellbeing through physical activity and sport by mobilising the academic, sport, recreation, health and other sectors.

She currently serves as the president for the International Society of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity, is on the steering committee for the International Physical Activity and Environment Network (IPEN), and an inaugural member of Citizen Science Global Research Network and Citizen Science Leadership Task Force, and former Chair for the Council of Environment and Physical Activity (ISPAH Council).

President, Executive Committee, 2021-2023
President-elect, Executive Committee, 2020-2021
Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2017-2020
Chair, Scientific Program Committee, 2017-2020

Past President

Executive Committee 2022-2023

Erica Hinckson
Auckland University of Technology

  • President, Executive Committee, 2021-2023
  • President-elect, Executive Committee, 2020-2021;
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2017-2020;
  • Chair, Scientific Program Committee, 2017-2020

Ester Cerin
Australian Catholic University

  • President-elect, Executive Committee, 2022-2023

Delfien Van Dyck
Ghent University

  • ISBNPA Secretary, Executive Committee, 2022-2025
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2019-2022;
  • Member, Finance Committee, 2019-2021; Chair,
  • Sponsorship sub-committee, 2019-2021

Meg Bruening
Penn State University

  • Treasurer, Executive Committee, 2019-2025
  • Member, Sponsorship sub-committee, 2019-2021;
  • Member, Finance Committee, 2019-2021

Sebastien Chastin
Glasgow Caledonian University

  • Chair, Climate Action Committee, 2022-2023
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2017-2023
  • Chair, Communications Committee, 2017-2022

Amy Yaroch
Gretchen Swanson Center for Nutrition 

  • Chair, Finance Committee, 2019-2023
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2017-2023;
  • Member, Sponsorship sub-committee, 2017-2023;
  • Member, Communications Committee, 2017-2018

Scott Duncan
Auckland University of Technology

  • Chair, SIG Committee, 2021-2023
  • Co-chair, Scientific Program Committee 2022-2023
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2020-2023
  • Member, SIG Committee, 2020-2021

Jenna Hollis
University of Newscatle

  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2020-2025
  • Chair, Membership Committee, 2020-2022

Adewale L. Oyeyemi
University of Maiduguri

  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2020-2023

Inês Santos
Universidade Lusófona

  • Chair, Communications Committee, 2022-2023
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2020-2025
  • Member, Communications Committee, 2018-2021
  • Member, #Dare2Share Committee, 2019-2020
  • Member-at-large, Membership Committee, 2020-2022

Teresia O’Connor
Baylor College of Medicine

  • Co-chair, SIG committee, 2022-2023
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2021-2024

Andre Muller
National University of Singapore

  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2021-2024
    e & mHealth SIG Chair 2020-2021

Carol Marher
University of South Australia

  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2022-2025

Moushumi Chaudhury
Auckland University of Technology

  • Student-Representative (Member-at-large), Executive Committee, 2022-2024

Sarah Shaw
University of Southampton

  • Student-Representative (Member-at-large), Executive Committee, 2022-2024

Lisa Mackay
Auckland University of Technology

  • Early Career Researcher Representative (Member-at-large), Executive Committee, 2022-2024

Stephanie Chappel
CQUniversity Adelaide

  • Early Career Researcher Representative (Member-at-large), Executive Committee, 2022-2024

António L. Palmeira
Universidade Lusófona

  • Newsletter coordinator, 2007-Present
  • Member-at-large, Executive Committee, 2012-2014
  • Executive Director, 2014-Present